Library Board

The Hutchinson Public Library operates under the authority of K.S.A. 12-1215. This statute and subsequent statutes give the City of Hutchinson an uncommon advantage in that the city does not need to support its public library financially. The HPL Board sets a modest property tax mill levy each year to generate funds to operate the facility.

The Hutchinson Public Library Board of Directors is a seven-member board appointed by the Mayor of the City of Hutchinson. Terms are for a period of four years. Members may serve two four-year terms. If two consecutive terms are completed, the board member must leave the Library Board for a minimum of two years before being eligible to serve again. Board members must live within the city limits of Hutchinson.

The current members are:

Jeff Roberson - Chairman
Marty Fee - Vice Chairman
Jocelyn Woodson
Joe Keck
Mary Hester
Steve Timken
Eric Steinle

Gregg Wamsley - Secretary
Mayor of Hutchinson - ex officio

The Board of Directors of the Hutchinson Public Library meets on the third Tuesday of every month at 12 noon. HPL board meetings are open to the public.

Bylaws of the Hutchinson Public Library Board

Minutes of past meetings may be found here:

Hutchinson Public Library Board Meeting Minutes